An American Addiction Centers Resource

New to the DrugAbuse.com Forums?Join or

A Steep Road

Discussion in 'Tobacco / Nicotine' started by tytryi, Nov 9, 2014.

1. tytryi

tytryi Member

Hello, I'm new here and I'm excited to share my story about how I overcame my addiction to cigarettes.

I used to work as an accountant and smoking was a huge part of my life with the stress from overworking myself. Twenty years passed quite quickly, and one day I was having trouble breathing. I took a trip to the hospital, and soon enough, I understood how serious the issue was when they showed me the condition my lungs were in.

However, it didn't stop me from smoking, because I thought at that point, "I'm screwed anyways, so why bother?"

But I realized that my family was very much worried about my condition, and perhaps that was my biggest motivation to quit smoking.

I started by buying cigarette packs, smoking some, and throwing away the rest. Obviously it was a huge waste of money, but by throwing them away, it meant I didn't have any cigarettes to go back to "finish off".

It eventually came down to a point where I only smoked a single cig and threw away the entire pack, and all of a sudden, I didn't need it anymore!

From this experience, what I can say is that please talk to your loved ones and discuss the issue because they care about you, and you are hurting them by being oblivious to your addiction. Thanks for reading!
    Jen S. likes this.
  2. Juan

Juan Active Contributor

Welcome to the forum. And congratulations on overcoming your addiction! I was addicted to cigarettes as well, and one of the things that helped me get through was the love I have for my wife and family.