An American Addiction Centers Resource

New to the DrugAbuse.com Forums?Join or

Afraid it won't work

Discussion in 'Opiate Withdrawal Treatment' started by Angela927, Oct 2, 2014.

1. Angela927

Angela927 Member

Does anyone have experience with buprenorphine detox from oxycotin? I've tried to kick from home with vicodins and they didnt help at all. Tried cold turkey and know I can't do that
  2. Jen S.

Jen S. Guest

Hey Angela927,
    There are two different buprenorphine options for opiate detox. Some treatment centers offer one or the other, some offer both. I'm not a medical professional, but I have detoxed with both and will try to summarize their similarities and differences.

Subutex (Buprenorphine)
    Buprenorphine is an opioid partial agonist. In other words, although buprenorphine IS an opioid—and can produce side effects like euphoria and respiratory depression—its strongest possible effect is still less than a "full agonist" like heroin or methadone. At low doses it produces enough of an effect to help you discontinue opiate use without experiencing withdrawal symptoms.

Suboxone (Buprenorphine + Naloxone)
    Suboxone simply reduces potential for abuse by injection because it includes a second drug called Naloxone (which counteracts opiates). Sometimes the Naloxone can cause people to experience sudden and severe withdrawal symptoms if taken too soon after your last OxyContin - so just make sure you're honest with the rehab intake staff about the exact time you took it.

Long story short, yes. Buprenorphine will work for OxyContin withdrawal. :)
    Call the rehab hotline number if you need help finding the right detox facility: 1-800-943-0566
    tasha likes this.
  3. travestyman

travestyman Member

Hi Angela,