An American Addiction Centers Resource

New to the DrugAbuse.com Forums?Join or

Alcohol and College

Discussion in 'Alcohol' started by Megalinoxo, Oct 5, 2014.

1. Megalinoxo

Megalinoxo Member

Recently, "binge drinking" has become a very prominent problem on college campuses. Underage drinking in large, excessive amounts has become the norm. My past 4 years of college, I regularly saw students blacking out every weekend for almost the entire semester.

Some problems I see with this include:
    Women trying to "keep up" with men and drinking in large amounts that they normally wouldn't
    The increased amount of sexual assault due to alcohol
    It isn't healthy for a young persons growing body
    Lack of knowledge about when "drinking because I am a college student" crosses over to alcoholism

What problems do you see? Do you think administration at college campuses are doing enough to stop these problems? How do you think some of these things should be addressed?
  2. Allen24

Allen24 Active Contributor

I observe a lot of binge drinking in college too. I'm not really interested in excess drinking myself. I definitely see many others drink until they black out and can hardly walk. In college the idea of "partying" is so important that many over do it, I think.

I don't know what schools can do to take further precautions. My school has a pretty good lock down on alcohol and policies regarding it. Most big parties are off campus. My school has informational mandatory meetings warning students about abusing alcohol but at the end of the day it seems everyone does what they want.
  3. maryannballeras

maryannballeras Senior Contributor