An American Addiction Centers Resource

New to the DrugAbuse.com Forums?Join or

Anyone has tried quitting with hypnosis?

Discussion in 'Tobacco / Nicotine' started by lalabee21, Aug 29, 2015.

1. lalabee21

lalabee21 Active Contributor

Hey everyone, I was wondering if anyone here has tried quitting with hypnosis. I’ve read that it had helped a lot of people but I’m still kind of skeptical. If someone has tried this and could share their experience I would appreciate it.

I would really love this to work for me, because I have tried everything and nothing has worked. I want to try this last thing before Champix because I’ve heard the side effects of these pills are too much to handle. Waiting for your answers thank you!
  2. FuZyOn

FuZyOn Community Champion

From what I've read hypnosis is one of the best methods for getting rid of an addiction, but you should do your own research and base your judgements off of that. I'm not that experienced in this, and I never thought about trying to solve my issues via hypnosis but it can be a really effective alternative.
  3. singingintherain

singingintherain Community Champion

I've heard really good things about hypnosis and it was certainly one of the recommendations for treatment when I finished my psychology degree about ten years ago. I'm not able to be hypnotized myself so I'm unable to do use that method unfortunately. I'd recommend giving it a shot though! If you can't be hypnotized they usually give you your money back, so no harm done.
  4. Emerson_B

Emerson_B Active Contributor

I read somewhere that the response to a hypnosis is different from person to person. There are other people who would be easy to hypnotize and there are people wherein it does not seem to work.

Hypnosis was actually recommended to me but I never did try it as a way to quit. My friend told me that you can ask to be hypnotized so that everytime you smell cigarette smoke, you would feel nauseous. It is torture but I think it would work.