An American Addiction Centers Resource

New to the DrugAbuse.com Forums?Join or

Bring Candy

Discussion in 'Sobriety Tips and Inspiration' started by irishrose, Dec 30, 2015.

1. irishrose

irishrose Community Champion

Heading out to a New Year's eve party tomorrow night? If you're concerned about the possibility of being tempted by alcohol while there, consider bringing some candy with you. The sweet sugar in the candy and having something else to think about may help with the oral fixation. Also, the candy flavor taste in your mouth may make alcohol flavors seem less appealing.
  2. stariie

stariie Community Champion

Hmm, okay. Alcohol hasn't ever really been my "thing", therefore I don't remember giving any serious thought about what to do to combat that type of craving. This is my first time 'hearing' about candy as a way to stave off the desire for alcohol. These days I have been drinking a lot more than usual lately, so perhaps I'll give this a try; not for the New Year's festivities, but just in general.
  3. kassie1234

kassie1234 Community Champion

I hadn't heard of that approach but I'm sure it could work for some people - I know that friends who were addicted to cigarettes did this, though! I think it was a big mental part of the 'hand to mouth' type repetitive behaviour that they were used to, so it helped alleviate that side of the cravings.
  4. bleblanc10

bleblanc10 Senior Contributor

I have never heard of this approach but am very curious if other people have success using it.
  5. JohnBeaulieu

JohnBeaulieu Community Champion

I think it is a bad idea. Especially in light of recent studies on sugar and it's effects on the brain as well as the body.
  6. Sarasmiles

Sarasmiles Member

I love candy so this sounds delicious! I think I'll substitute sugar free gum instead, since I'm watching my calories. What are some New Year's Eve activities you suggest? Whatever you do, have a safe and fun time! Best wishes for 2016!:):cool::D
  7. dyanmarie25