An American Addiction Centers Resource

New to the DrugAbuse.com Forums?Join or

Could this be considered addiction?

Discussion in 'Marijuana' started by Zelle139, Apr 2, 2016.

1. Zelle139

Zelle139 Member

I've been smoking weed for about 8 years now, and pretty much daily for 5 years. I smoke 3-5 bowls a day from a very small one hitter, almost always for the reason of getting the munchies. See, my whole life, I struggled with being underweight, and since a small amount of weed gives me effective munchies, I'm able to eat a lot more and keep myself at a healthy weight. If I don't have weed around, I can eat, but not nearly as much as when I've smoked a little. My girlfriend says I'm addicted because I need it to eat. I say it's no different from an appetite supplement since I'm not really smoking enough to get me high. I function just fine after and no one can tell I'm high unless they know me really well, and even then, a lot of them don't notice most of the time. I'm just looking for opinions mostly, like my girlfriend and I aren't fighting over it, in fact she loves watching me eat a lot lol I'd just like to know what other users think~
  2. Momma9

Momma9 Community Champion

If you can't easily stop smoking right this minute and never smoke again, you are likely addicted. It sounds to me like you are, but only you can know the truth. Just the fact that you are posting here shows that you are considering you may be addicted.

As a former daily smoker married to a daily smoker for quite a few years, I will say that when you are in the fog of marijuana use you *think* you are doing just fine. You may *think* no one knows you are high. In reality, I suspect others know. I see people high and smell weed all the time! When you stop and come out of the mind fog after a few months, you realize how smoking pot was affecting your life. And usually not in a good way!