An American Addiction Centers Resource

New to the DrugAbuse.com Forums?Join or

Damaging the nose?

Discussion in 'Cocaine' started by Miaka_M, May 10, 2015.

1. Miaka_M

Miaka_M Active Contributor

I've never done cocaine before nor do I know anyone personally who has done it. I did witness people doing it a couple of times and all I can think is "ouch", my nose burns just when I get water up it, how would it feel to get chemicals going up? Would is possibly damage the nose somehow? It's not like normal constant breathing, its more like forced pressure up the nose. So, would that be a possibility of damaging the nose?
    Damien Lee likes this.
  2. xTinx

xTinx Community Champion

Cocaine damages the nose. That's a given fact. As to how it damages the nose, medical experts enumerate:
    • It constricts the flow of blood to the septum, causing a hole
    • Quick intervention can prevent this from happening
    • Septal perforation needs medical intervention to heal (it's not self-healing)
    • Cocaine causes severe damage to the nose's shape and function
    jeremy2 and JonnyMacdonald like this.
  3. sunflogun

sunflogun Community Champion

No question that it damages the nose, like you explain very well xTinx. The nose it's not made to inhale that drug and that often, so actually we are destroying ourselves.
  4. pwarbi

pwarbi Community Champion

It certainly damages the nose in the long term, obviously depending on how often you have it. In the short term it doesn't, as in when your actually taking it, it doesn't physically hurt, if that makes sense?
  5. rightct

rightct Community Champion

It's proven it damages the nose quite profoundly, but this is the least of cocaine's problems. I'd actually preffer cocaine addicts damage their nose than their whole body, given the many risks it has.