An American Addiction Centers Resource

New to the DrugAbuse.com Forums?Join or

Depression medicines

Discussion in 'Prescription Drugs' started by sweetkymom, Oct 3, 2014.

1. sweetkymom

sweetkymom Member

Is it possible to get addicted to depression meds? I was just diagnosed with depression and am scared to take medicine as I've heard they are addictive. Any insight?
  2. maryannballeras

maryannballeras Senior Contributor

Yes, you can get addicted to depression meds, that is true. It's good to know that you are concerned about this matter. You can go through the natural healing process, how about talking to your friends? That should help. :)
  3. I am not a doctor so I cannot speak with any authority but have significant experience with people who are/were on medication for depression. It is my understanding that it depends on the medication, dosage and other factors but for the most part medication for depression is not addictive. I would recommend discussing it with your doctor first so you fully understand side effects, purpose of the medication and how much you will be taking. Another thing to consider is you may not be on it forever, your doctor may wean you off it at one time or another.
    blur92 likes this.
  4. Jen S.

Jen S. Guest

Good question, sweetkymom.

From WebMD:

SSRIs do not cause addiction in the way cocaine, tobacco, or heroin do. After a period of exposure to SSRIs, however, the brain does adapt and get "used to" the medicine. For this reason, you shouldn't stop taking an SSRI suddenly without talking to your doctor. After completing treatment, most SSRIs are tapered before stopping, and the brain readjusts.

Bottom Line: SSRIs aren't addictive, but they shouldn't be stopped abruptly either.

Commonly prescribed SSRIs:
    Definitely discuss this with your doctor, but click here to read more.
    blur92, RoseK, jdroc and 1 other person like this.
  5. Allen24

Allen24 Active Contributor