An American Addiction Centers Resource

New to the DrugAbuse.com Forums?Join or

Depression

Discussion in 'General Substance Abuse Discussion' started by imperivm1, Mar 20, 2015.

1. imperivm1

imperivm1 Community Champion

I guess I've been feeling a little depressed lately. Being in my last year of study, I've been having these dark thoughts about my future. "What if I don't find the right job"; "What if all those years in university amount to nothing"; "Will I be able to provide for my family one day"; it's apprehensions like these that can ruin my day completely.
  2. Matthodge1

Matthodge1 Community Champion

I have recently had those exact same thoughts. I am a student as well, and the future just seems so big and daunting that it seems almost inescapable. However, after talking to some very trusted friends and mentors, I have come to realize that those thoughts are really just a part of growing up. We were meant to embrace the unknown at full force. It is ok to be scared, because it really is just part of what life is about. The good and the bad both make up our existence, and without trials and tribulations, what really are we? Without triumph in tough times, the entire human experience is really nothing worth noting. God forbid that we sit around scared, worrying about what life will be like. Go run after the future and tackle it and never let go of it, no matter what.
    Thestoryteller1 and kana_marie like this.
  3. medievalmama

medievalmama Community Listener Community Listener

I just want to say that you are not your job or your bank account. You have value regardless of where your career goes.

No one knows where they will end up. It is important to live each day fully. By doing the best you can today, tomorrow will take care of itself. The best thing to do is exactly what you did: talk about it.