New to the DrugAbuse.com Forums?Join or

Did it work for you?

Discussion in 'Sober Living Homes' started by TristanDH, Jul 13, 2015.

1. TristanDH

TristanDH Member

The family of a friend of mine think he relapsed and got back to the pipe after eight years away from it. They're considering sending him to a sober living home. Does anybody here has any a similar experience living in a place like that and being addicted to crack?

I think he'll agree with their decision, because after all this time of working his way out of the drug, he seems to understand, at least rationally, that he can't live with the pipe anymore...
    jeremy2 likes this.
  2. MzDTL

MzDTL Member

I am not technically familiar with that scenario, however I do know someone. She was addicted to crack for one year. Her family was trying everything they can to help the individual. So we found a sober living home that is close by the family. We visited everyday, of course the first few months was hard for the individual, to let her family members to see her in a vulnerable position. She was living in the sober home I think close to a year, and don't get me wrong she had her trips and falls but she conquered it, and now she is happily married with a child.
  3. deanokat

deanokat DrugAbuse.com Community Organizer Community Listener