An American Addiction Centers Resource

New to the DrugAbuse.com Forums?Join or

Distinguishing between side effects and a dual-diagnosis

Discussion in 'Dual-Diagnosis Treatment' started by JohnBrock, Feb 15, 2015.

1. JohnBrock

JohnBrock Active Contributor

I am concerned regarding a case I am working with, I have no real background within it and work more as a counsellor, and I need some help in how to approach a situation I am dealing with currently.

Subject suffers from alcoholism and severe depression, the latter of which triggered the former, I am wondering how to go about his case, finding proper knowledge on the subject seems somewhat sparse, and I don't know if handling either side of his case first, or handling both at the same time is the most reasonable.

I fear that handling his alcoholism will make his depression far worse, or that handling his depression will be too hard for him to cope with while still suffering from his alcoholism.
  2. Jane

Jane Active Contributor

The alcohol makes the depression worse and vice versa, though, so I think you're going to have to tackle both at the same time. They go hand-in-hand and one isn't going to get better without the other one getting better, too, so just take it one step at a time. Alcohol abuse doesn't stop overnight (nor does depression) so it certainly takes time.

Is there an option for medication to help with the depression?
  3. pineywood

pineywood Community Champion

I understand that medication can and does help certain individuals with depression. What concerns me in this situation is the the subject already abuses alcohol. What is likelihood, that they will begin abusing the newly prescribed medication? Or worse yet, what if the person mixes the drugs and alcohol? Now the situation, becomes even more compounded.

Of course, I do agree with you that the two can not necessarily be separated, but how to balance the care has got to be a very complicated situation.
  4. stellaluna