An American Addiction Centers Resource

New to the DrugAbuse.com Forums?Join or

DivorceCare group?

Discussion in 'Other Recovery Support Groups' started by frogsandlegos, Nov 3, 2014.

1. frogsandlegos

frogsandlegos Active Contributor

Has anyone ever participated in a DivorceCare group? It is a nationwide program with groups all across the country.

What are your thoughts on it? Good or Bad? Would you recommend it to a friend? Do they force you to speak up?

Thanks for your advice and thoughts.
  2. Jen S.

Jen S. Guest

3. tasha

tasha Community Listener Community Listener

I think it is a good idea to go and check it out. You are not forced to stay or speak and you can see if you feel comfortable there before you want to fully commit. You might like it and it might help you but just go and see.
  4. stariie

stariie Community Champion

This is my first time hearing about an official group, but I have heard about very informal types of support groups for divorce. If I was going through a divorce, I would definitely check it out, because divorce can be very painful, it can be like a death in the family.
    (Then again, divorce can feel like a relief and a breath of cool, fresh air. One of my favorite aunts has been divorced twice...)
    If you go to one of these meetings and don't like it, you don't have to go back.
  5. Askani

Askani Active Contributor

I've never heard of it before, but it sounds like a very good group to at least try out. It wouldn't hurt to attend a few times and see how well you fit into the group and see if it can help you with any problems you may have. Divorce can be a horrible taxing time for anyone, but especially for those who are recovering addicts. Large upheavals in your life can cause a ton of stress and trigger you to use again if you aren't careful. It never hurts to have someone to talk to and vent with.
  6. xTinx

xTinx Community Champion