An American Addiction Centers Resource

New to the DrugAbuse.com Forums?Join or

Exercises that make you feel better?

Discussion in 'Sobriety Tips and Inspiration' started by springbreeze, Nov 11, 2014.

1. springbreeze

springbreeze Active Contributor

I am not a big exercise person. I would rather sit in front of my tv or computer screen or even a book. But I have to admit after I finish a yoga routine, I feel so much better and relaxed. There's something about muscle stretches mixed with the music that lifts my mood up.

What about you?
  2. Serena

Serena Active Contributor

I also feel better when I do a yoga routine. I have been using the same video for a few months, but it is the one that I think fits me the best. Also, using my exercise bike makes me feel better. Gardening is a great exercise for me as well. Two means are being met with this; exercise and sustenance. I also feel a lot better after doing the Leslie Sansone 3 mile walk.
  3. valiantx

valiantx Community Champion

A good bicycle ride is one of the activities that makes me feel better. Walking around in outdoors nature is another thing I like to do to life my spirit and energy up. Also, practicing my sword skills with a wooden Boken, gets my heart pumping and helps to strengthen my arms and loosens my shoulders.
  4. Charli

Charli Community Champion

I like swimming as an exercise the most. Not only does it exercise a lot more of your body for the same amount of time it would take for you to work on just a few specific ones in other exercises but also being in the water is refreshing in a way that not many other exercises can provide.
  5. springbreeze

springbreeze Active Contributor

I haven't ridden a bicycle since I was a kid. The last bike I had, my brother popped the tire. And that was it. Hmmh... I'm thinking a ride in the park would be very uplifting. Thanks for the reminder.
  6. Twinsmommy31

Twinsmommy31 Active Contributor