An American Addiction Centers Resource

New to the DrugAbuse.com Forums?Join or

Getting to know Mr. Hyde...

Discussion in 'Share Your Story Here' started by MrsJones, Aug 31, 2015.

1. MrsJones

MrsJones Community Listener Community Listener

It's been six years of sobriety for my husband and now I getting to know Mr. Hyde. I have to admit that I enjoyed Dr. Jekyll much more. Mr. Hyde is so so different and I'm having a tough time trying to find out where I fit in. Don't get me wrong I love him dearly with all my heart.

So my question is what are you doing or have you done when you met Mr./Mrs. Hyde?
  2. deanokat

deanokat DrugAbuse.com Community Organizer Community Listener

@MrsJones... I have no experience in this area, but I am intrigued by your post. I don't often hear of someone liking their old, addicted partner more than the new, sober version. I'm sorry that you're feeling the way you are. Hopefully others will be able to weigh in and share similar experiences.

Peace and hugs.
    MrsJones likes this.
  3. amethyst

amethyst Community Champion

MrsJones, I also came across Mr Hyde, and the only way to deal with him was to distance myself in order not to get hurt. It affected me a lot to suddenly be ignored and treated indifferently while other people and things became more important in his life. In fact, I considered this sudden strange indifference as a form of abuse, as I didn't understand what I had done to deserve such treatment. It took several months before he began to realize how destructive his behavior was. I remained by his side but, admittedly, it crossed my mind several times to pack my things and stay somewhere else for a while until he got back to his senses.
    MrsJones and deanokat like this.
  4. L_B

L_B Community Champion