An American Addiction Centers Resource

New to the DrugAbuse.com Forums?Join or

Hobbies!

Discussion in 'Sobriety Tips and Inspiration' started by jbirdx665, Jan 10, 2015.

1. jbirdx665

jbirdx665 Member

Last edited: Jul 19, 2018
    jeremy2 likes this.
  2. blur92

blur92 Senior Contributor

I've started working out in the past year. In order to keep it up I can't afford the exhaustion alcohol causes. This isn't just including the hangovers. I notice I have a significantly reduced amount of energy after drinking regularly in a given amount of time. Overall, I don't function as well. So, if I want to gain results along with maintain them I have to give up alcohol.
  3. Rainman

Rainman Community Champion

My hobby is [would you call it strange?] creating 3D models. Of course I'm still learning which makes it even more fun. Once I fire up the 3D modeling software and start creating something, I don't think about anything else while I concentrate on the 'task' at hand. So yeah, I believe any hobby can help keep your mind off negative stuff.
  4. Tournique

Tournique Senior Contributor

Hobbies are a must in order to get past an addiction. Why do I say they are a must? Because they will keep your body and mind occupied with new stuff. After developing an interest in these things you may find out you actually like it a lot and could help yourself get past certain addictions.
  5. goldenmaine

goldenmaine Active Contributor

Wow that is a very interesting hobby. It is very helpful to have hobbies because we are doing things that are productive and useful unlike engaging in substance abuse. Sports are a great hobby of mine which is very beneficial. It is a good exercise and also a weight loss activity, which is fun and exciting. Swimming, basketball and lawn tennis are the sports that I am into and I play them with my family and friends.
  6. rainbowguard

rainbowguard Senior Contributor