An American Addiction Centers Resource

New to the DrugAbuse.com Forums?Join or

How far back does a hair follicle test for cocaine go?

Discussion in 'Cocaine' started by pchez01, Nov 8, 2014.

1. pchez01

pchez01 Member

My friend has been doing an awesome job of stay clean but the program that she is in wants to do a follicle test on her and she is afraid because she did relapse one time back in June. She has been totally clean since then and she has passed all of the weekly drug test that they give but they told her that the hair follicle test can go back a year. So I was just wondering is that true?
  2. Charli

Charli Community Champion

I'm not an expert but from what I understand it should be present in your hair until you cut it off, but the lower parts close to the follicles itself or the root have a chance of not having substance in them if you stopped for months. Basically, hair grows at around .5 inches per month so if you were sober for 3 months, the 1.5 inches of hair from the root that grew in in that time period, which is the part that is usually tested, should be clean, while the remainder will have remnants, still. If you want to be sure before going to the official test then try getting some home testing kits first. Congratulations to your friend on staying clean and I hope she gets the job and continues on with her success.
  3. Martisa

Martisa Member

Cocaine can stay in your hair for around 90 days! If your friend has been clean since June she should have nothing to worry about! I'm not an expert, but I am 99% sure it does not go back 1 year! Have your friend trim 1 inch of her hair prior to the test! If theres any drugs in her hair by now it would be in the ends of her hair!
  4. JoshPosh

JoshPosh Community Champion

Yeah, I agree also. It should be only 90 days. Give or take a week or so. But good for her for getting cleaned up and continuing to do so.
  5. Determined2014

Determined2014 Senior Contributor