An American Addiction Centers Resource

New to the DrugAbuse.com Forums?Join or

How long until narcotic dependency sets in?

Discussion in 'Prescription Drugs' started by TripleD123, May 12, 2015.

1. TripleD123

TripleD123 Community Champion

I have a friend whose young teenage daughter has been struggling with kidney stones for a few months. She has been prescribed very strong pain killers. My friend is afraid that her daughter is becoming dependent on them. She is afraid that her daughter cannot tell what is actual pain from the kidney stones or her body urging for more pain killers. Its been about 3 months that she has been taking them. The type of kidney stones her daughter suffers from cannot be zapped or treated so the doctors keep prescribing more pills to help ease the pain. I am not an expert by any means but I told my friend to not worry so much. I thought I would turn to this forum to see if anyone has any insight.
  2. MyDigitalpoint

MyDigitalpoint Community Champion

If your daughter's friend is under medical supervision, and sure she is, doctor is already aware of the potential addiction pain killers may cause.

Doctor is probably prescribing a controlled dose, and will substitute the pain killer eventually for two reasons; prevent addiction but also because body develops tolerance to medication and rather than increase the dosage, will change the actual for another.

So you are right, your friend must not worry and, if she is doubt due to the time she has been taking the same pain killer, she must look after a second diagnose.

One more thing, three months with pain killers could be already three months with different medication. The risk is in to keep administering a sole pain killer for a long period of time.
    TripleD123 likes this.
  3. TripleD123

TripleD123 Community Champion