An American Addiction Centers Resource

New to the DrugAbuse.com Forums?Join or

How To Quit?

Discussion in 'Tobacco / Nicotine' started by webdangol223, Mar 8, 2015.

1. webdangol223

webdangol223 Member

How To Quit Smoking Completely?

I have been smoking for 15 yrs and I want to leave it completely.I left everything but I couldnot leave it.
    Help Or Give Idea.o_Oo_O
  2. missbishi

missbishi Community Champion

Have you tried e-cigarettes? My attempts at quitting would always fail within a month until I bought an e-cig. I haven't smoked a regular cigarette this year at all. I do understand though, that this doesn't do anything to address the nicotine addiction - it just provides a healthier alternative.

I know there are a few people on this forum who have managed to quit cold turkey and I'm sure someone will be along soon to advise on that. Best of luck!
    Last edited: Mar 8, 2015
  3. Gelsemium

Gelsemium Community Champion

Wanting to quit smoking after 15 years is the best. Vaping is a solution, but if you are really serious about it you'll find a way. Nothing is done without effort though. ;)
  4. Winterybella

Winterybella Community Champion

I am not a smoker myself so I cannot speak from experience but I see you have some suggestions here already, which I hope will prove useful. Just by reading the experiences of others I am sure you will gain further insight on things to do to hep you quit smoking. The important thing is to START as the article below will show.

http://www.helpguide.org/articles/addiction/how-to-quit-smoking.htm
  5. dyanmarie25

dyanmarie25 Community Champion

Quitting to smoke is not that easy. You have to mentally and physically prepare yourself as you will go through the difficult phase of withdrawal symptoms, but if you're willing and determined to walk through the path towards recovery, I'm sure you'll overcome this. Good luck!
  6. Charli

Charli Community Champion