An American Addiction Centers Resource

New to the DrugAbuse.com Forums?Join or

How will marijuana affect daily life

Discussion in 'Marijuana' started by Nelja Lerob, Aug 17, 2015.

1. Nelja Lerob

Nelja Lerob Member

I've never done drugs before, and I've only heard stories about it. I'm not really interested in drugs, so can someone explain to me what it's going to do to my body or how I might affect other people?
  2. Sparkster

Sparkster Community Champion

Marijuana isn't going to affect your body much but it will affect your mind. In the long run, it deprives you of energy and makes you lazy. It relaxes you and calms you down but at the same time it can also cause short term memory loss, anxiety, paranoia, etc. In a worst case scenario it can also lead to psychosis or schizophrenia. Physically, the dangers are pretty much the same as smoking tobacco.
  3. btalivny

btalivny Active Contributor

You said you are interesting in doing "drugs". This is a terrible way to approach cannabis as it can lead to the use of other more dangerous drugs. It is known as a "gateway drug" for a reason. Regardless, the use of cannabis has varying effects on the user depending on the strain type. The high you see on TV (lazy, confused, tired) is known as indica. The very upbeat/energetic high is known as a sativa strain. There is a hybrid type in between but you need to look up each strain before purchasing to figure out what it will do to you.
  4. AFKATafcar

AFKATafcar Community Champion

That's literally the opposite of what the OP said. You need to read that again before rushing to judge him/her.

As for marijuana, it affects most people in the same manner. Marijuana usage will lead to "good" feelings as some people describe them, and then you'll feel more calm and relaxed. Long-term marijuana usage has been shown to alter the shape of the human brain, so heavy usage on a long-term basis isn't exactly a good idea.
  5. stridee

stridee Active Contributor