An American Addiction Centers Resource

New to the DrugAbuse.com Forums?Join or

I have hope again

Discussion in 'Share Your Story Here' started by shenanigans1990, Mar 14, 2016.

1. Addiction was my choice, the lifestyle came with it, and my choices from then on supported my addiction.

I used to be an extremely, almost annoyingly outgoing and bubbly, happy person. I got along with people easily, I was sweet, selfless, considerate, giving and I never expected anything in return. I worked as a home health aid for the elderly for 5 happy years. I had so much fun learning, being there for people who needed help, and always giving quality care as willingly as you could imagine. I paid my own bills, made choices that supported and was in favor of continuing a successful and simple life. I was love by a lot of people, hated by only one or two. I loved myself enough to do the right thing for me, even if it meant having to sacrifice in another part of my life.

I ended up leaving my boyfriend of two years because I got bored I guess? A week later I met someone from an online dating app who happily and ruthlessly, intentionally tore me apart bit by bit. Built me up just to tear me back down to nothing. He made me believe he found me beautiful, but the next minute couldn't stop expressing to me how ugly I am, in every way. I lost my identity through him. I, in desperation and brokenness made several attempts to get back with my ex. He started falling back in love with his ex, was talking about moving to a different state with her...and all the while I could feel any hope I had spill out onto the floor in front of me.