An American Addiction Centers Resource

New to the DrugAbuse.com Forums?Join or

Ignoring Hallucinations

Discussion in 'General Substance Abuse Discussion' started by Joshstillclean, May 21, 2019.

1. Joshstillclean

Joshstillclean Stupidity Exists - Fact.

Hey, im josh- recovering heroin addict(cocaine, xanax, valium, alcohol, all opiods, and probably other stuff I just don't remember. But these were the substances I have been treated for,being physically dependant on).
    I know that's a long intro to say hey, and tell my name.
    But I want to make sure everyone who reads this knows I have a lot of experience with detoxing/using. I'm 31 as of November last year. Started using when I was 15. I've been sober and clean for 1 year. That's half of my life.
    In another thread my good friend@True concern who has been here for me since day one, and has always given me solid advice made a very good point. At the time I believe I meant to comment on it but became distracted.
    He has a wealth of knowledge about detoxing as well. We both share in the opioid and benzodiazepines detox experience I am sad to say for both of our sakes. As these are two of the worst to detox from that I can think of, except possibly alcohol. I cannot think of anything worse to come off of.
    To get down to the point he made a dead serious comment about hallucinations and not fearing what you know is not real. This is very true. He also said to not approach anything that looks like it could be dangerous because it might not be a hallucination, and well in that case it would be bad to say...for example, tell yourself this.
    "Im going to face my fear and show myself that this is not a hot skillet in the middle of the grocery store." So you go and put your hand on a very hot skillet that they were just using to cook free food samples with. They had packed up, and they left the skillet for last by mistake or without thinking.