An American Addiction Centers Resource

New to the DrugAbuse.com Forums?Join or

In the grips of Loperamide

Discussion in 'Share Your Story Here' started by BBarnett22, Mar 27, 2016.

1. BBarnett22

BBarnett22 Member

Hello everyone,
    I want to start off by introducing myself as this is my first time posting on this forum.
    My name is Brennon, I am 24 years old, I live in the state of Tennessee in the US.
    I am currently battling drug addiction and I have been since I was 18 when a friend gave me my first pain pill at work (some friend right?). Since then I have pretty much not stopped using for a period of time longer than two weeks and have also picked up a chronic disease along the way from IV drug use.
    I learned about the drug loperamide (better known as Immodium to most people) from reading about it online and its ability to help with opiate withdrawl as I was trying to get off the potent drug Suboxone. I read you had to take it in very high doses to stave off the withdrawls. Boy did it do way more than get rid of the withdrawls. I'm just going to leave it at that. Before I knew it I was taking loperamide everyday eating anywhere from 100 to 200 pills at a time which eventually led into heart problems and my heart has already stopped on me at the hospital 2 times as a result.
    I am still taking loperamide but in much lower doses.
    This is the battle I am fighting at the moment.
    I will be on here quite a bit as I have a lot of knowledge and can help people and I am also looking for much needed encouragement and hope for myself.
    I have fought this disease for far too long.

Any questions just shoot me a pm.

Sincerely,
    Brennon :)
    KaseyHopeMartin likes this.
  2. djdrug

djdrug Community Champion

Hey Brennon,

Welcome to the Forum and I hope you will be able to find strength and support from the members of this forum. I am looking forward to learning a great deal from you.

Cheers!
  3. serenity

serenity Community Champion