An American Addiction Centers Resource

New to the DrugAbuse.com Forums?Join or

Is Adderall/Ritalin/Concerta prescribed too often to young children?

Discussion in 'Prescription Drugs' started by cabrannon529, Aug 15, 2015.

1. cabrannon529

cabrannon529 Member

I was prescribed many stimulants from a young age, (Concerta, Ritalin, Focalin, Daytrana, Adderall), for my ADD/Inattentive. I feel like, in the short term, they helped me, a lot, with some side effects, but long term, they only worsened my ADD and forced me into an Adderall dependence. What are your thoughts on this? Do you think stimulants are prescribed too often to children (8-18)?
  2. singingintherain

singingintherain Community Champion

I have no personal knowledge of this but I have seen a couple of documentaries looking at this. One that sticks in my memory is by Louis Theroux. From an outsider perspective it seemed like those prescriptions really helped many of the children, but there were some that might have benefited more from a less traditional school environment, rather than just being handed a prescription.
  3. mscaver86

mscaver86 Member

I understand your concern about this issue but my thing is if it's not prescribed to aid the children to calm down when they are over active/inattentive what other alternatives are there? My best friend is having this issue with her 6 year old daughter and she does not want to medicate her but she just can not control her. So at this point what other avenues can be taken?
  4. Hyperion

Hyperion Active Contributor

Oh man, yes. Even children who do have ADD or ADHD get put on meds at a really young age. One of my old friends was on it since second grade and he certainly has s dependence on a lot of things.
    His parents were so busy advancing their careers and social climbing, I think they saw it as a way to lessen their parenting loads.