An American Addiction Centers Resource

New to the DrugAbuse.com Forums?Join or

Is it even worth it?

Discussion in 'Share Your Story Here' started by Anonymous12356, Dec 15, 2018.

1. Anonymous12356

Anonymous12356 Active Contributor

sometimes I strongly think of being sober is even worth it?? I’m new to recovery and these thoughts hit my mind a lot and I miss drugs/alcohol so bad at times. It makes me want to cry that I can’t use anymore. Sometimes I wish there was no health consequences at all and I could use all I want. Has anyone felt this way? Is being sober really worth it?
  2. Dominica

Dominica Recovery Advocate @ Moving Beyond Codependency Community Listener

@Anonymous12356 hey there. i'm sorry you're struggling. i'm sure many people feel this way while journeying in sobriety.... the thought has crossed my mind before, but usually when i'm going through something really hard and i don't want to feel the pain. still, drinking makes me feel very bad about myself...and it's not good for health, as we all know.

early recovery can be tough. do you have a solid support system? i remember having to learn how to live life sober...and deal with life sober..and learn how to enjoy life sober. this was many years ago, and i'm glad i made that decision or life would have went very different.....

keep coming here and venting.... we are here. and yes, i do believe being sober is worth it. take it one day at a time...one hour at at time if you must....

i pray today goes better for you.
  3. deanokat

deanokat DrugAbuse.com Community Organizer Community Listener