An American Addiction Centers Resource

New to the DrugAbuse.com Forums?Join or

Itching Skin Part Of Alcohol Withdrawal?

Discussion in 'Alcohol' started by adamlevine, Nov 13, 2018.

1. adamlevine

adamlevine Member

I have been drinking very heavily for the last 4 months : at least 6 - 13 standard shots of gin almost every day. Sometimes more. Things just escalated and got out of hand. I was also smoking a pack of cigarettes a day, and usually finishing the night off with a couple of Tylenol with Codeine (8mg). I realize that I am probably lucky to still be alive.

I have stopped all the bad habits - no intention of going back to that place - but have a question about the detox process.

I am on day 6 and things have not been too bad, except for a little fatigue and insomnia and bad dreams which I understand is normal in this situation. I can get through this. But it is the onset of hypersensitive skin that is driving me nuts! Itchy skin that feels as if bugs are crawling over me at times. NO, I don't see them! [​IMG] Is this part of the detox - does anyone else know of this experience? And how long do you think this could last!

I have had blood work done, and by some miracle everything shows up within range!
  2. True concern

True concern Community Champion

Usually itchy skin is a typical side effect of someone who IS taking to much opiate based medication...not was taking but IS taking but if that's not the case unfortunately I have no idea.I suggest checking with your doctor to get his/her opinion on this particular scenario just to be safe
  3. deanokat

deanokat DrugAbuse.com Community Organizer Community Listener

I'm with @True concern on this one, @adamlevine. I would consult with a doctor about your itchy skin. It could be related to alcohol withdrawal. A quick Google search does show a lot of people who are detoxing from alcohol talking about itchy skin. That said, it could be something else altogether. Best to ask a professional.