An American Addiction Centers Resource

New to the DrugAbuse.com Forums?Join or

My Brother Is An Addict

Discussion in 'Share Your Story Here' started by vahbiz, Jun 2, 2015.

1. vahbiz

vahbiz Member

Hi I'm from India , I recently lost both my parents. One of my brothers abuses drugs. N now he's started abusing it at home, which is really disturbing for me! My other siblings are not bothered by it but its annoying to smell smoke in ur own home. I'm the youngest n now I'm so alone, Ive tried speaking to my siblings but all they assured me was that he wouldn't abuse drugs at home but he still does n right in front of them n they won't say a word. We learnt of his habit seven years ago, my parents also didn't send him to a rehab n failed miserably to get him to quit. His twin, my other brother thinks he's improved as he is smoking less. I'm living at my parents home n share the house with two of my brothers, one of whom abuses drugs. I'm a student studying psychology and it breaks me mentally to deal with him. My only hideout has been my room.
    I really needed to share my feelings as i feel all the other doors are shut for me.
  2. deanokat

deanokat DrugAbuse.com Community Organizer Community Listener

@vahbiz... Welcome to the forum and thank you for sharing your story. I'm very sorry to hear about your brother and his drug abuse. It's hard enough when a sibling uses drugs, but when they are doing it in the same house as you...well, that has to be very tough.