An American Addiction Centers Resource

New to the DrugAbuse.com Forums?Join or

My drinking

Discussion in 'Alcohol' started by AAngelo, Apr 7, 2015.

1. AAngelo

AAngelo Senior Contributor

I started drinking when I was in college like most individual. I started out drinking once a month. Then it became once a week and eventually it became everyday. I usually went to class tipsy. Luckily, my professors were quite liberal and as long as you can cope, they were cool with it. I thought to myself that I would kick the habit once I finish school. I said the same about cigarettes and pot. I was confident and it never crossed my mind how my vices can hurt me.

Fast forward to now. I'm a single professional with a stable job. I was able to stop smoking and toking. I cannot say the same about drinking. I still can't focus without drinking a few beers. I usually drink brandy to help me fall asleep. During the weekends, I'd get so drunk that the next time I see my drinking buddies, it becomes a bit awkward thanks to what I said/did while drunk. I've lost quite a few friends because of this.

Drinking has been my problem for a decade. I feel my social life has been severely affected. If my job was not of the solitary nature, my professional career may be wrecked already. I'm starting to resist drinking again. Hopefully, I can get out of it clean.
  2. serenity

serenity Community Champion

I think you are taking the right step in changing your life for the better. Since you already admitted to yourself that you have a problem, the next step is to either quit cold turkey or lessen the amount of your drinking bit by bit. If you think you need the help of a professional, then seek professional help. I wish you all the best in your recovery.
  3. TommyVercetti

TommyVercetti Community Champion