An American Addiction Centers Resource

New to the DrugAbuse.com Forums?Join or

My son, my inspiration.

Discussion in 'Sobriety Tips and Inspiration' started by BayouBilly, Oct 4, 2015.

1. BayouBilly

BayouBilly Member

The day my son was born, was when I quit smoking. It was the best thing I could've done in my life.

Now, I've been smoking for over 14 years - but I made that promise that as soon as he comes into this world, I would be smoke free. I wanted my son to not be cheated from his father, and be able to enjoy as much love and support that I could possibly provide.

If there is anyone looking for inspiration, think about your loved ones. It makes the struggle that much easier - and in some cases, almost non-existent.
  2. serenity

serenity Community Champion

Nice post! It is said that the greatest love for a person is the love of a parent to a child, and you seem to fit the bill. Some parents don't think the same way that you do and they still smoke even when they already have many kids. How unfortunate, isn't it?
  3. xTinx

xTinx Community Champion

I wholeheartedly agree with you. If only others in the same boat think and feel as you do. Although not everyone possesses such an amount of love and affection, I do hope the people in their surroundings would be able to remind them of their parental responsibilities. I wish you the best and may others take a leaf out of your book!
  4. dyanmarie25

dyanmarie25 Community Champion

That's absolutely great to hear @BayouBilly! Congratulations on being able to quit smoking for good. And I totally agree with what you have said. Whenever I am feeling down and in the verge of doing something that's bad for me, I would just always think of my family and friends, then I would instantly be motivated.
  5. L_B

L_B Community Champion

Very nice post and congratulations! You are an awesome Dad who put his child first when it came to smoking. I commend you on that!! Great job!
  6. deanokat