An American Addiction Centers Resource

New to the DrugAbuse.com Forums?Join or

My Story

Discussion in 'Share Your Story Here' started by Anahap, Jul 6, 2015.

1. Anahap

Anahap Member

Hello, I've been smoking cigarettes for 11 years, and I'm 26 years old. I used to hate the act of smoking before I picked it up as a habit. Now I can't quit. I tried on several occasions, and I failed each time. Don't get me wrong, I'm not giving up, but failing so many times is kind of depressing. Anyway, I just wanted to say hello.
  2. EditorsRHumansToo!

EditorsRHumansToo! Community Champion

Welcome @Anahap I'm sure you are doing your best to stop smoking. The fact that you understand within yourself that nicotine and other substances aren't supposed to be in your body doing harm than good. Your self-awareness is a good start.

Do find an accountability partner who can help you quit your habit. The person you love and are free to express your desire to get well and be rid of smoking. Plan or sketch a reward-system every time you don't puff a smoke. The money you spend to buy cigarettes, save that money and double the amount when you accomplished a day of not smoking. Your accountability partner will hold the money saved for you. Do a lot of walking in the sun at the park. Play some basketball. Write songs about your struggles and about how you have been finding hope to go through them. Sing. Dance. Exercise. Help out at a civic center-- they might be needing your help there.

I will think of you among our young friends here. I will pray. :)
  3. Anahap

Anahap Member

Thank you for your reply ! My girlfriend also smokes and she wants to quit as well. She could be my accountability partner, and hopefully we can both quit this bad and destructive habit. I never tried a reward-system until now, maybe this was my mistake. I'll give it a try. Thank you very much and have a lovely day.
  4. gracer

gracer Community Champion