An American Addiction Centers Resource

New to the DrugAbuse.com Forums?Join or

My story

Discussion in 'Share Your Story Here' started by Beany, Aug 20, 2018.

1. Beany

Beany Member

Hi all
    I am living in the uk and have had problems with addiction all my life. From caffeine nicotine cannibis and no cocaine and alcohol.
    I have had therapy and have worked as a therapist myself which is why sharing is so difficult for me. I work with teenagers also and I function to a high degree in my work. My shame level is high due to my work.
    I have recently started to have a problem with cocaine.
    It started socially where I thought it would be fine to have the odd line. I live in a place where everyone is doing it and I mean everyone. It has become like smoking.
    It has come to the point where I have gone through my savings and this month I went through £300. I cannot afford this money and I am scared that it has got a grip on me. I had a little left and threw it away. That I am proud of. But I fear in a week or two I am going to be looking again. I hope this sight is confidential as I feel so ashamed due to my work. Thanks for allowing me to share my story and being there xx
  2. deanokat

deanokat DrugAbuse.com Community Organizer Community Listener

Welcome to the community, @Beany. It's always nice to have people join us from across the pond. I'm glad you found us and reached out.

I know you're feeling bad, but try not to be ashamed. You're not a bad person; you just have an illness called addiction. And you are not alone. There are millions and millions of people who struggle with addiction every single day.

I'm proud of you for getting rid of the cocaine you had left. Do you have any plan in place for what you'll do if you get an urge to use again? Having a plan would be a good thing. Is there anyone you're able to talk to? Maybe another therapist? Just a thought.