An American Addiction Centers Resource

New to the DrugAbuse.com Forums?Join or

On the edge of a cliff

Discussion in 'Share Your Story Here' started by Doublelife, Dec 5, 2018 at 10:54 PM.

1. Doublelife

Doublelife Member

Sorry in advance for the language.

Hi, I'm new to this forum and I guess I'm posting because I feel like I've been standing on the edge of a cliff for a long time and I'm finally teetering towards completely falling off and fucking up my life... Heres a snapshot of my story:

I'm 27 and I've been doing drugs of all kinds since I was 12 years old. I have had a really hard life and using drugs have always been my coping mechanism for the trauma I've experienced.

In my early twenties, I used to get so fucked up mixing uppers and downers that I would black out and have seizures. I had such disregard for my life that drugs always came first, **** if it killed me.

When I was 23, I quit everything and did a complete 180 with my life. I didn't need detox or rehab or meeting. I just woke up one day and had enough of being a failure. I quit everything cold turkey--except for coke. I never saw coke as a problem because I never wanted it unless I was partying and it just made partying more fun; it wasn't like I needed it.

That completely changed a couple of years ago after my long-term boyfriend cheated on me. Then, a few weeks after that, I was sexually assaulted by two guys and I haven't been the same since. It wasn't even the first time I've been assaulted or even the most violent but it broke my soul.

Shortly after that, I got into an extremely mentally/emotionally abusive relationship. We were together for about a year and a half and the using just got worse from there.