An American Addiction Centers Resource

New to the DrugAbuse.com Forums?Join or

Perocet addiction

Discussion in 'Prescription Drugs' started by Stevie, Jan 15, 2020.

1. Stevie

Stevie Member

Hey guys I'm new to this and hoping to have someone to relate with.
    I started doing percs about a year and a half ago.. not alot the max I do a day is 3. I need to get off them but experience the worst withdrawals.. anxiety, depression, restless legs. I'm to ashamed to talk to anyone about it so I'm battling this alone.
    I just want to get back to my normal self and not have my day centered around when I can do a perc, I feel like it will only get worse.
    Has anyone gotten off these successfully without methadone? Any tips on how to fight the withdrawal symptoms?
  2. DoxyMom

DoxyMom Community Champion

@Stevie I wonder if you are being honest about your use. Only 3 a day for 18 months should not cause the severe withdrawal. If it is then your mind is very powerful. You need to mentally prepare to get off. Try to taper by halting your use every few days. Eat healthy and take lots of supplements. Again are you sure you are only taking 3 a day. We are some of the word addicts here and there is no judgement.
  3. Stevie

Stevie Member

Yes it's only 3 a day but I sniff them. I do think alot of it has to do with my mind because I have anxiety and depression. When i sniff the drug it makes me feel more alive. Maybe my mind is making it worse then anything. What supplements would you recommend?
    Onceaddicted77 likes this.
  4. Onceaddicted77

Onceaddicted77 Spam fighting Moderator & Realist Community Listener

I'd recommend taking some tumeric supplements for the anti inflammatory antioxidant and antidepressant effects.

It makes you feel more alive because you are suffering from mild anhedonia taking a low dose of opioids is like taking an antidepressant.

The only cure for anhedonia is abstinence so your receptors and transmitters can rebalance.