An American Addiction Centers Resource

New to the DrugAbuse.com Forums?Join or

Prescribing Children Serious Drugs

Discussion in 'Prescription Drugs' started by Liv6, Jun 22, 2015.

1. Liv6

Liv6 Member

I found out recently that my doctor had prescribed to me a Class C drug when I was little (around six years old) and my mother had to wean me off of it, as is the case with most serious/dangerous drugs. Last summer, I was also prescribed Vicodin for my wisdom teeth removal, and I had a huge problem getting off of it as I had gotten way more pills than I had bargained for. Do you think that certain drug categories should be banned for minors due to their addictive nature? Also, do you feel like this would have an effect on the number of future prescription drug addicts?
  2. zaerine

zaerine Community Champion

That is alarming to know since doctors should be the ones who know what will be best for their patients. I am no expert or related to any medical field so, I cannot answer that directly. But I think better to get second opinion or even third when there are doubts on the prescription.
  3. missbishi

missbishi Community Champion

I was on phenobarbital as a toddler myself. Because of my age, it was the only treatment option available to me at the time (and remember that this was the 1970s).

I'm sure that such drugs are not prescribed unless there's no other option. After all, drugs like Ritalin and Adderall are frequently given to children.
  4. amethyst

amethyst Community Champion