An American Addiction Centers Resource

New to the DrugAbuse.com Forums?Join or

Quitting Smoking

Discussion in 'Tobacco / Nicotine' started by DancingLady, Oct 27, 2014.

1. DancingLady

DancingLady Community Champion

When someone is quitting smoking, what are they likely to feel physically, besides the desire to smoke?

What is the best way to encourage someone who is struggling to quit and has not been able to stick to it?

I have quite a few co-workers who smoke, and I know at least a couple of them have tried multiple times to quit but have not succeeded yet.
    adriana likes this.
  2. Bowers2013

Bowers2013 Member

I have found in my many attempts to quit I have become anger, anxious, irritable and very impatient. It was very hard to concentrate, like I was in a fog. I worked in customer service and found myself very snippy with my customers. What encouraged me to quit was my ex-husband was deployed to Iraq. While he was gone I wanted to build up the endurance to run with him when he got home. I bought myself a treadmill and used Chantix. My motivation to stop was every time I got on the treadmill I could run further.

Maybe look into having a group hypnosis or acupuncture session or challenge each other.
    wellpostlooper likes this.
  3. zaerine

zaerine Community Champion

Maybe talking to those who successfully quit smoking could help them get motivated. There could be support groups in there or near your locality that could help them. They could try making themselves busy on other things too like having sports to occupy their minds and get physically fit at the same time.
  4. jaray87

jaray87 Member