An American Addiction Centers Resource

New to the DrugAbuse.com Forums?Join or

Sharing my journey..day 1

Discussion in 'Share Your Story Here' started by Strawberry, May 13, 2018.

1. Strawberry

Strawberry Member

Hi everyone, this is my first time ever participating in an online discussion of any topic, however, I am confident it will be a huge help to me to have the opportunity to share my journey daily with fellow addicts like myself. I have been a heroin addict for 22 years now with a couple of lengthy periods of sobriety, and numerous relapses. I have always been whats considered a "functional addict", meaning I have always had the ability to maintain a semi-normal life while using daily, even to the point where I've been in several long term relationships with men that lasted 5+ years without them having the slightest notion that I had a substance abuse problem. In A/A and/or N/A, there's a well-known saying, "your only as sick as your secrets". That is a concept I can relate to well. Being that my addiction has been my #1 biggest secret I have always worked hard to keep under wraps, it has now become an issue I am not confronted about by family or loved ones as being a problem that I need help with.