An American Addiction Centers Resource

New to the DrugAbuse.com Forums?Join or

Smoking tea.

Discussion in 'Tobacco / Nicotine' started by Joethefirst, Nov 1, 2015.

1. Joethefirst

Joethefirst Community Champion

There are people that in a attempt to stop smoking cigarettes have turned to tea. I personally don't think that it will work, as your body wants nicotine and tea doesn't contain nicotine.

Has anyone tried it?
  2. kgord

kgord Community Champion

ahhhh no...but way back in the stone age when I was a college student I did smoke cocoa leaves. It was a brand called Free that attempted to give users a smoking experience that was nicotine free. The smoke was sweet, and it was a novelty but I don't think it lasted too long. It didn't have the kick of nicotine obviously.
  3. xTinx

xTinx Community Champion

Who knows but that's exactly the point: cut one addiction and replace it with another - possibly one that's harmless. It will work if you set your heart into leaving smoking. There's something about it that's psychological so if you start a new and better habit, the old one will unlikely haunt you.
  4. Joethefirst

The unfortunate thing is that tea smoking isn't healthy, it is just as carcinogenic as regular cigarettes are, but I agree with you. Ate the end of the day you are just displacing the problem, not really finding a solution for it.
  5. Jordan94

Jordan94 Active Contributor