New to the DrugAbuse.com Forums?Join or

Steroids.

Discussion in 'Other Substances' started by StephenG, Sep 23, 2014.

1. StephenG

StephenG Member

A girl I was dating freaked out when I told her I use steroids. I get them from my doctor when I'm in competition mode around 5 months a year because I'm a professional bodybuilder. I consider it part of the sport and I don't buy garage junk.

What's her problem?
    LaLaLaLaLola likes this.
  2. LaLaLaLaLola

LaLaLaLaLola Member

Are you still dating her?
    :p
  3. Jen S.

Jen S. Guest

Hi StephenG. Is your doctor prescribing them for bodybuilding competitions? Without a doctor's prescription for a medical condition, it's against the law to possess, sell, or distribute anabolic steroids, so just trying to figure out your situation. I imagine she might have freaked out because of the potential side effects below.

From WebMD - Both men and women who take anabolic steroids may:
    • Get acne
    • Have an oily scalp and skin
    • Get yellowing of the skin (jaundice)
    • Become bald
    • Have tendon rupture
    • Have heart attacks
    • Have an enlarged heart
    • Develop significant risk of liver disease and liver cancer
    • Have high levels of "bad" cholesterol
    • Have mood swings
    • Fly into rages
    • Suffer delusions
    menace and LaLaLaLaLola like this.
  4. LaLaLaLaLola

LaLaLaLaLola Member

That does sound scary. Are they the anabolic ones, StephenG?
    menace likes this.
  5. StephenG

StephenG Member

It started as a condition but I don't abuse or have any desire to abuse it. It's an enhancement. Not a miracle drug. It doesn't lift weights for me.
  6. Jen S.

Jen S. Guest

Oh, that wasn't what I was implying at all. Just trying to be helpful :)
    If you do want to learn more about steroid abuse, there's more information about it here.
    StephenG, menace and Joseph like this.
  7. menace

menace Community Moderator