An American Addiction Centers Resource

New to the DrugAbuse.com Forums?Join or

Struggle with Alcohol

Discussion in 'Alcohol' started by wlrahilly, Nov 6, 2014.

1. wlrahilly

wlrahilly Member

Hey everyone.

I wouldn't say I'm an alcoholic, however, when I do start drinking, I don't stop until I've pretty much passed out. My dad was an alcoholic and my grandfather as well. It does run in my family. I can go days without drinks, but when they are in front of me and I start drinking, that's it. I'm drinking. Any thoughts?
  2. Juan

Juan Active Contributor

Well, first of all, welcome to the forum. I'm not an expert in the matter, but you certainly seem to have a self-control problem. Don't think that because your dad and your grandad were alcoholics, it's something that you can't fight against. There are many resources here on this page, and also you can read about other members' experience, and maybe learn from them.

One of the things I used to do to try to control myself was spacing out the glasses or bottles I would drink in a a party, for example. I would drink a couple of beers, then a soda or water, then another beer, and so one. I would end up drinking less and less, up until I could just control the urge.

The truth is, you have to learn to control yourself. Start by taking this test to see if you should be concerned:

http://talk.drugabuse.com/threads/alcohol-abuse-self-assessment-screening-quiz.105/
  3. Jen S.

Jen S. Guest

4. Jen S.

Jen S. Guest

Also - I'm going to move this thread over to the alcohol section. Just so you know :)
  5. SuphaflyUK

SuphaflyUK Member

For me, when I was 18 I drank socially, then throughout my twenties I was still ok but around the age 25 I started to hide booze. After a night out I would go home and drink more. This was when I tipped over the edge from heavy drinker to alcoholic. I dont know if people are born with it but its certainly a possibility.