New to the DrugAbuse.com Forums?Join or

Taking the first step

Discussion in 'Low Cost and Free Treatment' started by Nikkishea21, Jan 18, 2015.

1. Nikkishea21

Nikkishea21 Active Contributor

Knowing when to get help is one thing but having the courage to actually go into rehab is another. Some individuals know that help is needed but pride and sometimes fear prevents them from going to these places and sharing their experiences with others. "I am a teacher and I am well known in the area, I would never be caught dead in one of those places" were the words of one individual I know.

We are all human beings and no one is immune to mistakes. Going is the first step to recovery, and loving yourself to the point where you know that you do not want to continue you life in a downward trajectory but would like to see a change. I say this everyday that life is too precious and short to allow others to ruin it. Do it for you and make the change, it is worth the long haul.
  2. Peninha

Peninha Community Champion

I think that it's important that we don't detox cold turkey, so the existence of free and low-cost programs is a good help to many people who don't have money.
  3. 003

003 Community Champion

I think the first step would be finding what's going to make you busy, finding your own interest that's going to ignite your life like playing a musical instrument, writing poetry or playing sports. Find something in which you are going to spend time wisely with other people, whom you can be friends with. Soon, you'd forget your vice and you'd feel stronger to fight it.
  4. missbishi

missbishi Community Champion