An American Addiction Centers Resource

New to the DrugAbuse.com Forums?Join or

Today is 4/20 and I've never been so happy to be free

Discussion in 'Marijuana' started by tckc, Apr 20, 2015.

1. tckc

tckc Member

I'm in my third year of recovery, and for the first time I am truly very happy not to be high on April 20th.

When I started getting clean/sober, it was mostly just about repairing damages in my life. I thought life would seriously become so boring and terrible, but life was already so horrible that I figured it could not be much worse.

And for a while, my recovery was based mostly in fear. I had managed to find some stability and self-love and I was afraid that if I went back out, then I would lose everything again.

But now, I'm at a point where I am starting to deeply appreciate the feeling of life. I feel a calmness and serenity for a few minutes on most days, and those few minutes are so much more enjoyable than any drug was. Three years ago, I could never have believed such a thing.

So, what I'm trying to share is that today is 4/20 and I don't feel sorry for my sober self even a little bit. It feels so amazing. Thanks for letting me share!
    EditorsRHumansToo! likes this.
  2. TripleD123

TripleD123 Community Champion

Congratulations to you. I really love that you have found clarity. I really enjoy that you don't feel sorry for yourself. People always seem to feel like they are missing out on something when they get sober. Like all of the sudden life stops. Life does not stop, in fact it begins. Like you said you are able to appreciate the feeling of life.
    Keep up the good work and never give up!
    tckc likes this.
  3. kassie1234

kassie1234 Community Champion