An American Addiction Centers Resource

New to the DrugAbuse.com Forums?Join or

Trembling hands?

Discussion in 'Withdrawal Symptoms' started by jeremy2, Oct 30, 2014.

1. jeremy2

jeremy2 Community Champion

I have noticed that most alcoholics can't get hold of anything without trembling and this is especially so early in the morning after they have woken up. My cousin Anthony suffers from this strange ailment and he neither has a good explanation as to what causes this. But after consuming a tot of his most precious brandy, things get back to normal and the trembling stops. Can anyone shed an expert opinion on this peculiar phenomenon?
  2. notodrugs

notodrugs Community Listener Community Listener

So is your cousin an alcoholic? And you think the tremor is caused by his condition? How severe is his tremor?

I am no expert but I've done a little research on this as I also have this problem. But I don't drink alcohol. My tremor is not very severe but noticeable enough by people around me. I think mine is the cause of getting exposed to the heat while cooking then washing my hands right after. I also thought before and confirmed just now through research that coffee, sometimes anxiety at work, agitation with some colleagues, excitement (in other words, emotional reaction) and exhaustion cause my tremors.

In alcoholics, so far from what I personally know and read, those who are trying to withdraw from it has tremors as one of the symptoms, like my uncle had. There's also an issue of it as being hereditary.

If it is just mild tremor then it may not be treated at all. Interestingly enough, I read that alcohol reduces the tremor. But caution was made in taking the right amount to avoid problems with alcohol.

For more info, please see this linkhttp://www.patient.co.uk/health/Essential-Tremor.htm
  3. tasha

tasha Community Listener Community Listener