New to the DrugAbuse.com Forums?Join or

Trying so hard

Discussion in 'Alcohol' started by Marie1221, Nov 13, 2017.

1. Marie1221

Marie1221 Member

hi, I'm new to sobriety. I tried to kick my habits a month ago after backing my car into a light post (not the first time I've hit something while under influence, unfortunately) but I couldn't keep. After a week of staying away from drugs and alcohol I went right back to it just a few drinks, then the next day, then the day after that I'm sharing a bottle of Jamison and railing an eight ball until 7 AM. Long story short, I can't keep doing this to myself. My back teeth are rotting from cigs and drugs, I've done things I never would have done sober within this last year, my body is tired and my emotions are shot. I'm three days now and I want to stick to this. Unfortunately I think I to quit my good paying job (around a lot of alcohol and coworkers using) and stay at my minimum wage which is depressing and makes me want to drink anyways.
    Please, how do I stay sober/clean? How do I keep making myself go to meetings? Just looking for any advice, thank you.
  2. deanokat

deanokat DrugAbuse.com Community Organizer Community Listener

@Marie1221... Welcome to the community, thanks for sharing with us, and congratulations on your three days of sobriety. That may not seem like a lot of time, but you're building a foundation for your recovery one day at a time. And that's a wonderful thing.

You mentioned in a comment on another thread that you think you need to stay away from your friends who use in order to keep yourself sober. I think that's definitely a great idea. If being around them is going to be a trigger for you to use, then stay away. You have to keep your own well-being in mind and do what's best for YOU.