An American Addiction Centers Resource

New to the DrugAbuse.com Forums?Join or

Wake up call

Discussion in 'Alcohol' started by reubhole, Feb 23, 2015.

1. reubhole

reubhole Member

I've was heavy drinker for the last 10 years. It was very unusual for me to go a day without drinking. I work as a chef, so drinking after work kind of comes with the territory. I would be hungover most days, but by the time I would have to work again (nightshift) I would be fine to work. I was also smoking weed every day. One night I was just sitting watching TV when I felt out of breath and dizzy. I couldn't sleep that night and it felt like my heart was beating out of my chest.
    I went to the doctor the next morning. He said it was probably a panic or anxiety attack, although I'd never experienced them before. He ran all the usual tests just to rule out a heart attack.
    Turns out I had high blood pressure. My readings were consistently high over the next three weeks, so he recommended medication.
    I did some thinking and decided I didn't want to be taking pills for the rest of my life, I asked him if there was anything I could do to lower it naturally. No big surprise here, quit smoking and drinking.
    At first I thought there was no way I would ever give up alcohol. Weed maybe, but alcohol was too much a part of my life, especially socially.
    But I'm going to try it, week one is down, I feel bored as hell and still can't sleep. Hopefully week 2 is easier!
  2. JohnBrock

JohnBrock Active Contributor

Happy to hear you took the plunge, and that week one is already gone!

Many people experiencing withdrawal symptoms initially report having trouble sleeping, the best thing you can do is find something else to do while you're unable to sleep. Being sleep deprived or suffering from insomnia sucks, but at the very least it gives you some extra time!