An American Addiction Centers Resource

New to the DrugAbuse.com Forums?Join or

Want to quit chewing tobacco

Discussion in 'Tobacco / Nicotine' started by Vinaya, Feb 15, 2016.

1. Vinaya

Vinaya Community Champion

I have nicotine addiction.I take nicotine by chewing tobacco. I have been chewing tobacco for more than 12 years. I have been trying ti give up my addiction since two years, I have tried various thing such as chewing gum, candies etc, but my addiction is still the same.
  2. Joethefirst

Joethefirst Community Champion

Have you tried to read Allen Carr's book, easy way to stop smoking? Don't be mislead by the tittle, it is also applicable to chewing tobacco or any other way of nicotine consumption.
    If you look on YouTube you can find the video and the audio book.
  3. 6up

6up Community Champion

You should first make a commitment and know why you must quit chewing tobacco. Chewing tobacco can cause mouth cancer and that is something you have to consider. Know that you can save a lot of money by quitting chewing tobacco. Join groups that have the same problem and who want to quit the behavior. Get to know what makes you crave for chewing tobacco and try to avoid it.
  4. Tsky45

Tsky45 Community Champion

I think you should try some detox tea. Getting the nicotine out of your system could make it a bit easier. Sometimes people try to ween themselves off of things they are addicted to, by doing less and less until it's none. Just keep trying different things something has to work. You can do this.
  5. Joethefirst

Joethefirst Community Champion

This is very true, most people that quit don't get right on the first try, but if you are persistent in your attempts to quit you will get it right.
  6. npatel2

npatel2 Member