An American Addiction Centers Resource

New to the DrugAbuse.com Forums?Join or

What is Spice?

Discussion in 'Other Substances' started by karmaskeeper, Nov 10, 2014.

1. karmaskeeper

karmaskeeper Community Champion

I have to admit I don't know a lot about street drugs. I have some knowledge of the more common types like meth or crack. I have never personally did any street drugs, but have had them offered to me. My question is what is Spice? I have heard that name when it comes to street drugs is it just another name for the more common ones.
  2. valiantx

valiantx Community Champion

Well, I simply Google this [dunno why you didn't do this], and Spice is merely a synthetic marijuana [whatever that means] mix with a bunch of other psychoactive plants; not natural and opinion by some not for human consumption. An excerpt from www.drugabuse.gov:

"Spice abusers who have been taken to Poison Control Centers report symptoms that include rapid heart rate, vomiting, agitation, confusion, and hallucinations. Spice can also raise blood pressure and cause reduced blood supply to the heart (myocardial ischemia), and in a few cases it has been associated with heart attacks. Regular users may experience withdrawal and addiction symptoms."

I wouldn't try this drug, nope.
  3. karmaskeeper

I figured I would hear from someone on here that has had first hand experience with it. That would give me a better understanding of what it is, and how it has either affected them or someone they know. I could have searched it, but I wanted the other members personal experience if they had any. Sorry if I put you out, sounds like another nasty habit to me.
  4. Nick W.

Nick W. Community Listener Community Listener