An American Addiction Centers Resource

New to the DrugAbuse.com Forums?Join or

Will I get fired if I smoke weed in CO and WA now?

Discussion in 'Marijuana' started by dshardpolerwas, Jul 1, 2015.

1. If I am a resident in those states can I still get fired although its legal? Ir do employers have to abide by state law and make their business cannabis friendly?

I know some police departments ban their officers from using tobacco so I am sure they can put a ban on cannabis there too. Private employers have always been lenient so I doubt they would care too much about cannabis anymore popping up on a urine test

What are your views?
  2. Totalarmordestine

Totalarmordestine Senior Contributor

an employer is not required to allow you to smoke weed just because the law says its ok now. if there is a policy that states that you must have no drugs in your system and fail a drug test you can and will be fired. just like we have the first amendment rights freedom of speech, expression etc. but this does not mean that you cannot be fired for saying "my boss sucks" on facebook.
  3. tarverten

tarverten Senior Contributor

Just because something is legal doesn't mean an employer has to allow it in the workplace.

For example, drinking alcohol is legal if you're over 21, but an employer can still stop you from drinking at work, and fire you if you are caught
  4. blastguardgear

blastguardgear Senior Contributor

I just have to note that this question isn't about being high at work- it is a question about THC showing up on a drug test. I wish I had a good answer for this, but all of you who are assuming that this person is wanting to get high at work need to go get themselves educated. There are plenty- TONS of high-functioning cannabis users... just because someone uses it doesn't make them a "loser".
  5. shadowsupernature

shadowsupernature Senior Contributor