An American Addiction Centers Resource

New to the DrugAbuse.com Forums?Join or

would this be consider an addiction to marijuana?

Discussion in 'Marijuana' started by tabtabsss88, Jan 23, 2015.

1. tabtabsss88

tabtabsss88 Member

I suffer from depression and anxiety and I am a daily smoker. I have been smoking for 10 years. I am currently on anti-depressants and anti-anxiety but I feel like they don't work as good as smoking. Would you think this is an addiction? or self medicating?
  2. Sparkster

Sparkster Community Champion

To be honest I think it's probably a little bit of both. Even if you are using it daily to self-medicate in order to relieve your symptoms of depression and anxiety, you are still likely to develop a (psychological) dependence on it. Can I ask, did you suffer with depression and anxiety before you started smoking marijuana?
  3. Profit5500

Profit5500 Senior Contributor

Do you think about quitting? I mean there was this one guy, I talked to who smoked and he had quit but had shortly relapsed. I too get depressed a lot since I do not have a job, which applying does me no justice.
  4. LitoLawless

LitoLawless Senior Contributor

I think it may be a little bit of both as well. Unless you have a license of some sort that stated you can prescribe marijuana to yourself, I wouldn't call it self-medication. Try going without it for a couple of days and see how you feel. See how badly you want it and that will give you a good idea if you are addicted.
  5. Profit5500

Profit5500 Senior Contributor

The only thing I would worry about is withdrawal syndrome. If you do go without using the marijuana then just be careful. I just do not try drugs since I already know that they come with consequences.
  6. morgoodie

morgoodie Senior Contributor